Melissa White, Archdiocese of Hobart

Melissa White, Archdiocese of HobartI am involved at various levels of pastoral ministry, within my own parish and within my work role. My work role is the implementation of mission and spiritual formation of volunteers within a lay Catholic organisation.

My own spiritual journey has perhaps been the greatest motivation to work in lay pastoral ministry. I feel that becoming a servant to others, in big and small ways, having empathy and compassion for others, and seeing Christ in every person I meet, is really a response to the transformation that has taken place in my heart because I have met and come to know God.

Meet A Lay Pastoral Minister

Meet A Lay Pastoral MinisterMy name is Roslyn Rajasingam and I was appointed Director of the Apostleship of the Sea in December. I’m the first lay woman to hold the role as Director of this unique form of ministry. Our focus is seafarers who may be on merchant, passenger or fishing vessels. I work with a team of chaplains and the managers of Stella Maris Seafarer's Centres to provide pastoral care, services and support for seafaring people in Australian ports without distinction of colour, gender, race or creed.

Rachelle Smith

Rachelle SmithRachelle Smith comes to the Australian Catholic Council for Lay Pastoral Ministry with a strong background youth ministry. She worked for several years in the Archdiocese of Hobart as Director, Office for Youth where she specialised in organising events throughout Tasmania and in preparation for several World Youth Days.

Cathy Jenkins

Cathy JenkinsCathy Jenkins commenced in the role of Director of the Archbishop’s Office for Evangelisation (Melbourne) in October 2016.  Coming most recently from senior administration in a Catholic school context, she has degrees in Arts and Theology and postgraduate qualifications in education, religious education and leadership and management. In addition to education experience Cathy has worked in publishing and has extensive experience in parish leadership.

Council Members 2017

Sr. Philomena Burrell Two members, Sr. Philomena Burrell from Perth and Mrs Kathleen Lillis from Melbourne have completed a six year term with the Australian Catholic Council for Lay Pastoral Ministry. We thank them for their faithful service to the Council and in particular their generous support of this e-letter.

The current members and their home Arch/Diocese, including a clergy representative and a bishop delegate, are Mr Greg Byrne, Maitland-Newcastle, Mrs Heather Carey, Adelaide, Fr Mark Freeman, Sr Kari Hatherell osu, Brisbane, Mr Richard McMahon, Parramatta, Mrs Christine O’Halloran, Hobart, Bishop Les Tomlinson.

Page 2 of 4

Online and off line payment options
Major credit cards accepted

GPO Box 368
Canberra ACT 2601

1300 4FAITH (1300 432 484)
Catholic Enquiry Centre

Back to top