National Catholic Education Commission

Chair: The Hon Greg Crafter AO

Box R1802
Royal Exchange NSW 1225

T: (02) 8229 0800
F: (02) 8229 0899

National Catholic Education Commission

Bishops' Delegates
Bishop James Foley
Bishop Gerard Holohan

Bishops Commission for Catholic Education

The National Catholic Education Commission (NCEC) is the official body charged by the Australian Catholic Bishops Conference (ACBC) with developing, advising, enunciating and acting upon policy at the national level for the Church's work in education.
NCEC is directly responsible to the Bishops Commission for Catholic Education (BCCE).

NCEC is the focal point for ongoing discussions and negotiations with the Australian Government and other national bodies involved in education. The Commission is also a national forum for discussion and debate on significant matters of interest and concern to Catholic education authorities in Australia.

Responsibilities include:

  • liaison with the Australian Government and other key national educational bodies;
  • monitoring of trends in educational theory and practice in Australia;
  • consulting, complementing and supporting Catholic education in each state and territory;
  • identifying and disseminating data relevant to Catholic education;
  • monitoring developments in religious education;
  • monitoring and encouraging research in Catholic education; and
  • preparing national policy statements.


The NCEC consists of:

  • Two Bishops from the Bishops Commission for Catholic Education.
  • A Chair appointed by the Australian Catholic Bishops Conference.
  • Two members drawn from, and nominated by, Catholic Religious Australia.
  • The Executive Directors of each state and territory Catholic Education Commission.
  • The Vice-Chancellors of the two Catholic universities in Australia.
  • Six other persons.  One of these members shall be an Indigenous person and two shall be parent members drawn from nominations made by the state and territory Catholic Education Commissions.


  • First school established in 1820.
  • In 2013, there were 1,711 Catholic schools throughout Australia enrolling 747,775 students and employing 87,471 staff.  One in five Australian students is educated in a Catholic school.

Catholic Bishops and their education authorities also address the religious education needs of Catholic students attending government and other non-government non-Catholic schools.

Australian Catholic University (ACU)

  • Established in 1991
  • Six campuses located in the state capital cities of Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane, the national capital, Canberra, and the regional centre of Ballarat
  • 20,446 students
  • 1,460 staff 

Notre Dame Australia (NDA)

  • Established in 1989
  • Three campuses located in Fremantle, Broome and Sydney
  • Collegial relationship with Notre Dame, Indiana
  • 10,300 students
  • 860 staff

The Commission meets five times per year and is supported by a small full-time Secretariat located in Sydney.  The Commission has eight Standing Committees

Online and off line payment options
Major credit cards accepted

GPO Box 368
Canberra ACT 2601

1300 4FAITH (1300 432 484)
Catholic Enquiry Centre

Back to top